Here’s tae us …

I am not a Scot, though it is such a wonderful contry that I used to wish I was (before discovering Canada, that is) … either way, today is Burn’s Night and the 250th anniversary of his birth so J and I are going to celebrate it in in true sassenach style with “recorded” bagpipe tunes but plenty of real, authentic malt whisky.

The whisky will be the Highland Park 12 year old and the toast will be to the man who wrote:

Then let us pray that come it may,
(As come it will for a’ that,)
That Sense and Worth, o’er a’ the earth,
Shall bear the gree, an’ a’ that.
For a’ that, an’ a’ that,
It’s coming yet for a’ that,
That Man to Man, the world o’er,
Shall brothers be for a’ that.

The full text is at http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A_Man%27s_A_Man_for_A%27_That and we all hope the day is getting closer.

2 thoughts on “Here’s tae us …

  1. What a great day!

    I posted my 2 favourite renditions of ‘A Man’s a Man’ on my blog and I’d like to share them here.

    Sheena Wellington’s rendition at the opening of the reconvened Scottish Parliament in July 1999

    Paolo Nutini

    I’m a very bad Scot. We’re washing down our haggis with fizzy bubbles.

    Ach! Rabbie would no hae said no!

  2. My favourite renditions of “A man’s a man” are :

    Sheena Wellington at the opening of the reconvened Scottish Parliament in July 1999

    and Poalo Nutini

Leave a Reply

