A Sparrow-quote and a weather report

First the quotation, just discovered.  We are not alone in thinking the humble Sparrow a very fine bird indeed …

“I once had a sparrow alight on my shoulder for a moment, while I was hoeing in a village garden, and I felt that I was more distinguished by that circumstance than I should have been by any epaulet I could have worn.” –Henry David Thoreau

As for the weather – no birding today, just a major winter storm hitting Montreal with very limited visibility and God-awful driving conditions … I just visited the arboretum and could barely find the place although a friend saw Kinglets there early in the morning before the weather got going properly.

Speaking of winter storms, I gather from the internet site of the BBC that Britain, our original home and native land (for those “from away” the reference is to the Canadian national anthem ), think they are having some winter weather at the moment … unusual weather, perhaps, but not truly winter whatever it feels like.  have a look at these:

The Arboretum - where I didn`t see any birds today

The Arboretum - where I didn`t see any birds today

Horizontal, high speed, thick snow

Horizontal, high speed, thick snow

Of course, things would be much easier in the UK if they invested in a real Tonka-Toy to move the stuff around instead of sending old Fred out with a bucket of grit six hours after the storm finishes … do they still do that?  Certainly they used to around Huntingdon way when we lived there.

What you need to handle this stuff ...

What you need to handle this stuff ...

Leave a Reply

