Hawking on the south shore

There have been recent reports of interesting birds on the south shore on the flat fields around the St-Hubert airport and, being at a loose end today, I popped over for an hour this morning between jobs.  No Snowy Owls (for me that is – they have been seen here in recent weeks) but as I arrived a big shadow blocked out the sky and a Rough-legged Hawk flew over the car.  Later I saw it, or I rather think a second one, flying low over the fields and then perching in a distant tree for a record shot top be taken.  A flock of about 100 Horned Larks were also around a ploughed field north of the airport … made the drive worth-while.

The Hawk is the dark blot perching in that tree … too far for my camera lens to get a better image although he was well viewed in the scope.

IMG_8244_b

