Hallowe’en

This is, I think, our eleventh Canadian hallowe’en and I still find it really weird.  Can’t get my head around the concept at all … you have to grow up with it to find the fun.  Me, I prefer the bonfires of November 5th but people here don’t get what that’s about in turn.  However, hallowe’en does have its good points – a piece on CBC radio this morning pointed me to an article published in today’s New York Times that also sums up a very importabnt reason why I like living in Canada so much, why it’s my sort of society … I’m probably wrong, but unless attitudes amongst the sort of people who man the borders have changed dramatically since we left I find it hard to imagine anything like this happening in the UK … view the article at:

http://www.nytimes.com/2008/10/31/opinion/31manji.html?_r=1&ref=opinion&oref=slogin 

Back to birds shortly, I hope.  Keep the faith.

