Naming things correctly …

Birders keep lists of what we see.  Recently, perhaps because of the wet weather and the burgeoning quantities of host plants available in the garden, I have become more aware than previously of the splendid insects we are enjoying this summer – some of which are very photogenic.  Of course, once you have photographed an insect, you need to identify it and suddenly you are into insect listing as well.  Yes, I know, I am a sad case but it’s fun … and so, needing to know what the entomological equivalent of a Birder might be called I consulted an old friend who does entomology for a living and guess what – it seems I am a bugger. What else?

The problem with buggering is that so many insects require you to carry a microscope instead of a spotting scope to get the species properly identified – this should be interesting.

